Community Rating System

About the Community Rating System (CRS)

The City of Boynton Beach Community Rating System Class 5 rating became effective on April 1, 2022.

Flood insurance rates, which are calculated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) National Flood Insurance Program, are determined in part by the work that each community does to reduce the effects of flooding in the community. Each participating community is given points for the totality of its efforts, and those points determine a classification in the Community Rating System (CRS). The City of Boynton Beach had achieved a Class 6 rating, saving its residents and businesses 20% annually on typical flood insurance policies. The newly achieved Class 5 would increase savings to 25%. This reduction applies to all properties located in a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). Flood insurance is also available to residents and business outside the SFHA with a 10% discount.

The Community Rating System (CRS) is one of the best programs for encouraging and recognizing broad-based local flood hazard mitigation programs. The CRS is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP requirements. The CRS, which is managed by the Insurance Services Office, Inc. on behalf of FEMA, is a "win-win" program because participating in it helps reduce the cost of flood insurance premiums for all policy holders as well as reducing our vulnerability to floods. The discounts are given to policy owners because the City of Boynton Beach meets the three goals of the CRS program. The goals of the CRS program are to:

  • Reduce flood losses;
  • Facilitate accurate insurance rating; and
  • Promote the awareness of flood insurance.

The CRS classes for local communities are based on 18 creditable activities, organized under four categories:

  • Public Information
  • Mapping and Regulations
  • Flood Damage Reduction
  • Flood Preparedness

FEMA CRS Resource Center

The FEMA CRS Resource Center is now available to the public. You can check out the FEMA fact sheet or review the list of all communities participating in the CRS.

Table 2: CRS Premium Discounts

The CRS premium discounts from FEMA are shown in the following Table 2.



  • SFHA (Zones A, AE, A1-A30, V, V1-V30, AO, and AH): Discount varies depending on class.
  • SFHA (Zones A9, AR, AR/A, AR/AE, AR/A1-A30, AR/AH, and AR/AO): 10% discount for Classes 1 through 6; 5% discount for Classes 7 through 9.
  • Non-SFHA (Zones B, C, X, D): 10% discount for Classes 1 through 6; 5% discount for Classes 7 through 9.

In determining CRS Premium Discounts, all AR and A99 Zones are treated as non-SFHAs.

Flood insurance premium rates are discounted in increments of 5%. For example; a Class 1 community would receive a 45% premium discount, while a Class 9 community would receive a 5% discount (a Class 10 is not participating in the CRS and receives no discount). The City of Boynton Beach is currently a Class 5 rating. This means that policyholders receive a 25% reduction of flood insurance premiums.

More Information

View more information and resources regarding the CRS program.